about us


Keep Mississippi Beautiful/People Against Litter was formed in 1988 by the Legislature. The bill mandated a statewide litter prevention and education program be developed. We are a nonprofit organization operated by a 21-person board of directors.

Keep Mississippi Beautiful aims to prevent litter, encourage recycling and beautify Mississippi communities by providing resources to 30 affiliates in the state. We are part of the Keep America Beautiful, Inc. network. We are ready to help solve problems dealing with litter prevention and solid waste management in your community. We are available to present programs to local civic organizations, schools and other interested individuals.


To engage individuals, businesses and governments in beautifying Mississippi and improving the quality of life.


Stephanie Hutchins, Chair, Southwest Distributors, Inc., sjbhutch@bellsouth.net

Shari Veazey, Vice Chair, Mississippi Municipal League, shari1@mmlonline.com

Richard James, Treasurer, Meridian Coca Cola Bottling Company, rjames@mdncoke.net

Joel Yelverton, Secretary, joel.yelverton@yelvertonconsulting.com

Gloria Johnson, Past Chair, Entergy Mississippi, gjohns1@entergy.com

Ron Aldridge, Beverage Association of Mississippi, aldridgeron@earthlink.net

Drew Allen, Allen Beverages, Inc., rmanon@abevinc.com

Gay Austin, glaustin2@bellsouth.net

Richard Brown, Mississippi Malt Beverage Association, rbrown@msbeer.com

Buford Clark, Waste Management, bclark3@wm.com

Bob Fairbank Jr., Mississippi Power Company, REFAIRBA@southernco.com

Peter Foley, Nucor Steel, peter.foley@nucor.com

Webster Franklin, Tunica Convention and Visitors Bureau, wfranklin@tunicatravel.com

Becky Morgan, Brown Bottling Group, bmorgan@browngroup.net

Janet Sullivan, Mississippi Dept. of Transportation, jsullivan@mdot.state.ms.us

Patsy Tolleson, Bellsouth, patsyut@bellsouth.net

Dr. Dolphus Weary, R.E.A.L Christian Foundation, dolphus@realchristianfoundation.org

Mark Williams, Mississippi Dept. of Environmental Quality, mark_williams@deq.state.ms.us


Honorable Lydia Chassaniol, State Senator

Paul Galtelli, TeleSouth

Dr. John Guyton

Honorable Rita Martinson, State Representative

Paul Ott

Sandy Williams, Corinth Coca Cola Bottling


Sarah Kountouris, Executive Director, 601.853-4210, sarah@keepmsbeautiful.com

Neeley Norman, Assistant Director, 601.853.4441, neeley@keepmsbeautiful.com

Kimberly Thompson, Education Outreach, 601.853.4441, kimberly@keepmsbeautiful.com

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s